Some people think that increasing business and cultural contacts worldwide have positive influences on development; other think that they have negative effects on national identities.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the effects which globalization exert. Some believe that globalization surely benefits most countries in different fields such as economy, education and politics; others however, insist that it is diluting national identities. In my view, globalization not only boosts economic development, but generally has positive effects on national identities.

Business contacts around the world contribute a lot to development. Investments from multinational companies create many job opportunities for local residents, and as a result, improve their living standards. That is the reason why many development countries enact policies to encourage international businesses and foreign investments.

Moreover, with globalized communication, national cultures and identities are more easily expressed to the outside world and receive the respect and appreciation. For example, the animated film “Kungfu Panda”, has become a blockbuster hit in many countries recently. Since Kungfu and Panda are uniquely two Chinese elements, Chinese identity has been enhanced and has impressed many people around the world through this film.

Those who harbour the view that cultural contacts may threaten national identities may argue that now the younger generations living in Shanghai eat hamburgers, drink coffee, work in skyscrapers and even speak English often, adapting a lifestyle similar to that of their western counterparts. But, I think this is just a universal modern lifestyle and to protect our national identity does not mean that every Chinese should drink tea everyday or use chopsticks every meal. In fact, the essence in our value system such as moderation mindset still remains unchanged.

In summary, increasing business and cultural contacts does play an important role in a country’s development. Meanwhile, a more prosperous economy facilitates the recognition and reservation of national culture and identity worldwide.