Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disargee with this statement?

Governments indeed play a pivotal role in developing the country’s economy. However, it is necessary to concentrate resources in public services rather than recreation fields, such as composing songs or making movies. This essay is going to explain my argument and propose some effective solutions to allocate financial sources reasonably.

There are several reasons why the authority has not to pour money into the arts. Firstly, there is a growing number of more urgent social issues that need to be addressed by the government. For instance, the appearance of a new virus called Covid-19 poses a threat to countries’ health care systems all over the world. To solve this menace, the officials must ensure well-funded public health care services and state-of-the-art devices to make up the viable vaccine. Secondly, the people who invest in the arts should be enterprises or artists because it is of interest. As can be seen in exhibitions, authors or copyright holders could benefit from displaying their works-of-the-art and earn a bunch of money.

For these reasons, the state budget should be disbursed into areas logically to secure residents’ living standards and the growth of various genres of the arts. This means the authority should mainly invest in improving the quality of public services including education, healthcare, and infrastructure. In contrast, the officials should boost the arts industry by introducing policies which give enterprises tax discount as a way to encourage them. Besides, local councils should support only creative engravers who produce the carving about national culture, heritage or historical figures.

In short, money for art projects should come from alternative financial sources instead of the government.