The government s investment in arts music and theatre is a waste of money Governments should invest these funds in public services instead To what extent do you agree with this statement

It is a common argument often debated that the government's investment in the fields of arts, music and theatre and that, this investment would be useful if spent on things like public services. Although I agree that the government should spend more on public services, I also feel that investing in the arts, the theatre isn't a waste but actually a boon.

The arts, music and theatre can act as major cultural heritage for a country. Having invested these areas can actually boost the pride of a nation and act as a role model in promoting their native talent. After all, a few years later, it is these aspects which would be looked upon to study about a country or it's culture. Having some notable works the arts and music might even attract foreigners and create an interest in that particular country. For example, the visual medium called anime is solely a product of Japan and now, it is enjoyed and by millions of people all around the world. But at the same time, the government should take care that the public sector isn't neglected while investing in the art.

If anything, it is the people who elected the government which in turn must look after the welfare of the people. So, a significant amount of funding in public services should be provided by the administration. It is the basic duty for any government to satisfy it's people's needs. Creating more jobs, in turn, benefits the country as more people would be employed and be earning. This as a result produces more income to the government itself.

So, I suggest that the government must find a middle ground for the funding of money in both the arts, as well as providing the public services. Otherwise, imbalances would occur which might affect the country in whole.