The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is sometimes argued that the government should invest more money in conducting medical investigations to protect civilians’ health rather than in preserving the ecosystem. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement because the importance of both dwellers’ medical condition and the biosphere are equal.

On the one hand, it is understandable that the authorities should spend more money on medical research because a nation will not exist if it has no civilians. Throughout the development process of human history, humans have faced various deadly diseases such as The Black Death, SARS, Ebola, COVID-19, and so on. These fatal epidemics have caused thousands of deaths which consequently result in economic recession and jeopardize society’s well-being. Therefore, it is crucial that the government should invest money in finding appropriate medical treatments in order to ensure the safety of citizens’ health.

On the other hand, it is also necessary that the government should fund projects which preserve the ecosystem because the environment has direct impacts on people’s health and the health of the planet helps not only humans but also other species sustain life. For instance, people in the 21st century may easily have respiratory diseases as a consequence of air pollution. Furthermore, the extinction of several sea creatures is being threatened by marine debris. As a result, the authorities should provide financial support to improve habitat quality which can not only protect people’s health but also preserve wildlife.

In conclusion, I believe that there are no significant differences between the importance of health-care systems and the environment. Therefore, the government should balance the investment for the sake of people and society.