Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many educators giving positive opinions on the statement, which is that children should learn to play with musical utensils. In my point of view, I completely agree with this opinion as teaching schoolchildren to play musical instruments is an ideal way to sharpen their intelligence and improve the quality of life.

Scientific research has shown that learning music can obtain various benefits. First of all, music helps the brain to develop as there are different studies proven that the understanding of music language can benefit a child’s overall mental development, which improves creativity and cognition functions. Secondly, music teaches them to focus on and relieves stress. It is true that if a person plays an instrument, he needs to be fully concentrated as the slightest mistake can ruin the entire melody. Also, music can help them to calm their mind and bring relief to their soul. Finally, learning to play musical instruments can enhance their social skills. Music helps people to connect themselves better. For instance, if a child knows how to play guitar, surely when he plays, his friends or his family members might sing along. And he is able to create something beautiful for people to enjoy, which brings him closer to people around him and makes it easier to make new friends.

Though there are a variety of advantages of playing music, learning to play musical instruments is challenging. It takes blood, sweat, and tears except for talented children. Children should set a flexible schedule as putting hours in practicing can make them experience pain, especially in their necks, shoulders, and hips. Furthermore, music instruments are somewhat expensive so depending on their family's financial ability can they make a decision on whether they should learn or not.

In conclusion, I undoubtedly agree that children should be taught to play music as it contributes to intellectual and soft skill development but it might take them a lot of time and effort.