The government is spending a lot of money to discover life in other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and they should spend more money addressing the public problems. To what extent do you agree?

The advent and development of science and technology have allowed us to explore other planets. To some extent, I agree that the government should budget other more serious issues such as global warming, diseases, etc. but I would also argue that space exploration is beneficial for humankind in the longer term.

On the one hand, we are facing pressing problems on the Earth that require our immediate actions rather than building spaceships to explore the Universe. Global warming and climate change are the most outstanding and disturbing subjects which we have not found an effective way to tackle yet. Therefore, it is understandable to argue why governments have to occupy their time and money to find life in other planets whereas our planet is being destroyed every day. Moreover, poverty still remains the biggest enemy in some corners of the World. While many people have to fight that constant battle to have food and to survive, it seems to be a waste of financial resource to fund space exploration projects.

On the other hand, I believe that space research can be valuable for us in a long run. Those programs give us a deeper insight into the Universe and provide us with more valuable information about other life forms. In fact, many outer space explorations have helped us to form a solid knowledge of the Universe. For instance, since Mars expeditions started, humankind has had more understandings about conditions of geology and climate in a faraway planet, which we would have never known without those studies. Furthermore, this is, perhaps, a key to the problem of overpopulation on the Earth. By researching habitability potentials, inhabiting on Mars might be no longer a science-fiction story in the future.

In conclusion, I partly agree that governments should make more endeavours to confront urgent matters such as environment and hunger. However, I believe that searching for life in the cosmos has lifelong benefits for the well-being and prosperity of mankind.