Nowadays the trend of fashion changes very rapidly, and gradually people become the salves of it. Some people think that a person should choose comfortable clothes he or she likes, regardless of fashion.

Do you agree or disagree?

The improvement of living standards is believed to have caused higher demand for fashion, because people have much more money to afford it. However, there is a fear that people will lose their own individuality, and never find what they really need. My view is that dressing up fashionably should be respected, and it is also correct to choose the clothes which people prefer for themselves.

Being fashionable is healthy and brings some benefits to us. This is because seeking beauty and wanting to look good are part of human nature. When people start to wear stylish clothes like a superstar, they feel more confident and have higher self-esteem, which is of course helpful and even essential in some social and business occasions.

Moreover, fashion is one element of popular culture. For example, South Korean fashion and TV dramas have been popular in other Asian countries for some time, and lately PSY’s “Gangnam Style” has even swept the world and many people imitate his horse-riding dance. Being in fashion and following idols makes people understand and become more involved in popular culture and feel up-to-date in this fast-dancing world.

This is not to say that everyone should be fashion-conscious. Certainly, it is a personal choice to put on comfortable clothes people are interested in. And since fashion changes over time, it would be better for people to pay more attention to something more meaningful in life, like pursuing knowledge, loving family, and cherishing friendship.

In summary, fashion should be respected, and at the same time people should have their own tastes of clothing style rather than blindly following the so-called “fashion”. Sometimes plain clothes may mirror a person’s inner peace.