Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has a heated debate over which mode of transportation that governments should encourage. Some people argue that governments should allocate expenditure to railways instead of roads. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view for the following reasons.

There are obviously many advantages of train or tram transport systems. Firstly, as part of the public transportation, it is more affordable to the public. This is because public transport passengers do not need to buy their own vehicles and some governments heavily subsidise the public transportation fees to encourage people shifting from cars. Moreover, railway systems are more environmental friendly than motor roads. Nearly all trains and trams nowadays are powered by electricity, while most cars and buses still rely on fuel. As a consequence, road systems contribute to poorer air quality and even global warming. Last but not least, it can relieve the traffic jam on the existing road and thus make the commute faster during peak hours.

However, this is not to say that government should not spend money on roads. To begin with, in residential areas and less populated areas, investments on railways is often less economical than roads. It takes longer time to maintain the balance of initial investment. Furthermore, it is less convenient to the residents as they are more likely to live far away from the stations.

In conclusion, although spending on railways is recommended in high population density areas on the account of social and environmental benefits, governments have to spend on roads because they cost less in lower population density areas and is more accessible to the residents.