People living in large cities face several problems. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller towns?

The population of metropolis has witnessed a sharp increase in recent decades in most parts of the world. However, those who live in the mega cities encounter many problems that as the cities grow. This essay will outline some of these issues and discuss whether governments should encourage people to live in smaller towns.

One of the most notorious problems in metropolis is the long-hour commute. Most commuters find it exhausting to travel over one hour per day either by cramming subway or by car jamming in the traffic, but they have to endure it because affordable housing is usually far away from the city centre. Another common problem city dwellers might encounter is high cost of living. Aside from the higher cost of accommodation, there are many other kinds of spending including parking fee, strata. It is reported that International cities, such as Hong Kong and London, generally require the highest living cost in the world. Furthermore, metropolitans are reported to be under a higher level of stress because of high tempo lifestyle and more financial pressure.

However, despite all the problems aforementioned, governments should not encourage to move to small towns because of several reasons. Firstly, people choose to move to some areas mostly because there are better opportunities. When they find better jobs in big cities, their life standard will generally increase, and vice versa. Therefore, it is not the governments' role to tell people where to live. Moreover, there are many benefits that small town residents do not have. For example, metropolitans can watch live events such as sport game or concert frequently because there are many of them available, whereas people in small town need to travel long distance and stay overnight. Therefore, it is hard to persuade those who enjoy city life to move out.

In conclusion, although there are some shortcomings of living in large cities, governments bear no right to discourage people to move to smaller cities because it is people's choice and it is undeniable that they are entitled to the resources in big towns.