Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Railway system and road system have been two of the main infrastructure for transportation. Some people argue that governments should allocate expenditure to railways instead of roads. However, I partially disagree with this opinion for the following reasons.

Undoubtedly, there are many advantages that railways have. The most obvious one is the larger amount of passenger trains or subways can carry. In contrast, most cars running on the street even during rush hours do not have the maximum passengers and thus roads cannot commute as many passengers as railways do. Moreover, trains and subways are more environmental friendly than cars. The modern trains and subways are all powered by electricity, while a majority of cars still rely on fuel. Thus, having more railways can alleviate air pollution and ultimately alleviate global warming. Last but not least, trains and subways are usually more efficient in city centre and long-distance commute. For example, people opt to public transports such as trams and trains to go to city because it saves the hassle to find parking and avoids traffic jam. Likewise, people prefer taking high-speed train when available as it is faster than driving on highway and less tiring.

In spite of the benefits mentioned above, there are still many reasons in favour of funding for roads. Firstly, roads are more accessible. When trucks deliver goods from train stations or ports to shops or homes, roads provide route to the doorstep. In addition, road users enjoy more freedom than public transports users because they can travel whenever they want without worrying the timetable. Furthermore, funding road construction and maintenance is less expensive than the railway counterpart. This is significant factor for rural areas where local governments do not have enough money to support public transport system.

To conclude, since railways and roads have different pros and cons, I partial disagree that governments should only spend money on railway. Governments should base on different situation to allocate the funding proportionately.