In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, the way people live in cities has experienced a huge change in the last few decades. It is very common for city dwellers to live in apartment block, especially in highly populated countries. This essay will outline the pros and cons of this living style.

On the one hand, living in apartments has many advantages. First of all, it is more affordable to rent or buy. Because the price of the land is divided according to the number of apartments on the premise, each housing is much cheaper than simply living in a house on the ground floor. In addition, living in apartment is more convenient. Since there are much more residents in one blocks, the facilities and shops are more likely to open close by. As a result, the residents are able to travel to their destinations simply by foot and subways.

However, this lifestyle comes with several shortcomings as well. The most obvious one is the noise. Some apartments locate in the busy areas where roads are full of honking and motoring noise. Likewise, sometimes the neighbors on similar floors may hold a party or undergo renovation, which can also be loud and bothersome. As a result, people may feel hard to relax even in their homes. Another disadvantage of flat living is privacy concern. As buildings are close to each other, residents have to put their curtains on all the time or get exposed to those living across the windows.

In conclusion, despite of the noise and privacy concern that some residents occasionally have, living in apartments is a more beneficial way of living in city areas because it offers great convenience and lower price.