Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?

Nowadays, travelling by train and public and private cars are both widespread, and the railway networks and roads are necessary to be expanded. Personally, I believe that constructing roads should be on a higher priority than the other. I feel this way for two reasons, which will be explored in following essay.

First of all, today people tend to travel by their own cars, rather than by train. More and more cars are being produced and sold every year, and it can be seen in cities, especially mega cities, that the streets and even highways are full of cars most of the time. Moreover, in developing and underdeveloped countries, because of the low price of petrol, it is more economical for families to use personal cars. As a result, while the rate of travelling by train remains almost steady, this rate for travelling by cars has had a significant raise. So, the government, as the representative of people, should allocate higher budget to building roads.

Second of all, there are numerous accidents happening every day in roads, cause injuries and dies. The train, however, is very safer vehicle, since few incidents are being reported caused by crashing a train. Fatal accidents cost the country so much money, because the medical expenditures and losing humans. As a result, it could be surmised that spending money on constructing new roads or widening current ones, has short-term and long-term benefits for government, and consequently for society.

On the other hand, it should be borne in mind that some kind of commodities can just be transferred by train, or at least transferring them by truck or other cars is not beneficial at all. The government is better to consider improving the rail network through all country, so can deliver necessary goods, such as fuel, to cities.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that more resources, including budget, planning and human resources, should be allocated to roads than railways. This is because the desire of citizens to use personal cars, and also because the costs that inappropriate roads would cause.