Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

these days many local governments spend large portions of their budget on developing and improving transport's infrastructure. in this regard there is controversial issue that suggests governments should focus more on the railways' development than roads'. although I agree that investment in railways have many benefits, I do think spending reasonable budget on roads is very indispensable to meet public demands.

On the one hand, allocating a significant amount of the government budget on train networks is beneficial for society. governments prefer that the most proportion of society use public transports like trains and subways than cars and buses. if they do so, the significant public problems such as road traffic, air pollution and meager fuel supplies would be solved. it is no surprise then that The Netherlands where most part of the country have been covered by railway networks does not confront these issues.

However, this does not mean that road systems should be completely neglected. people sometimes need to use their personal vehicles to reach their destinations. so it is an incontrovertible right that people have appropriate and safe highways and streets. relevant organizations is responsible to provide these facilities properly, if they not, roads would experience tragic and catastrophic accidents. To illustrate that, a recent study conducted by insurance organizations concluded that most people lose their life in accidents at low standard roads. therefore governments have to set aside sufficient investment to help road development.

To sum up, although there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of budget goes into railways, I do not believe spending money on road structure should be overshadowed as this too provides important benefits that would deduce many unpalatable accident to happen.