The high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising, as a newly-appeared creative industry, has become the marketing tool to boost sales for many manufacturers. Consequently, some people argue that the high sales of popular goods nowadays attribute to the success in advertisements and reflect no real social demands. I agree with this view to a large extent.

The first point to make is that today, unjust information of products is presented in various advertisements in a persuasive but misleading way. This means that, unconsciously, people are inculcated with exaggerated advantages of the products promoted by means from TV commercials to simple flyers - few people can resist this. The fact that a medicine advert targeted at the old which emphasizes effects of the medicines exaggeratedly in China have misled many old people and gained high sales may be a supportive example.

Another reason may be based on idol effect, through which advertisements can manipulate the consumers’ behavior more easily. It is undoubted true that nowadays a lot of manufacturers invest a great deal of money to invite popular stars to endorse their products, simple because idols boost sales - the audience will buy the product for their idols even it is not in fact necessary.

However, that is not to say that the high sales of goods reflect no real needs of consumers. Admittedly, more people are gradually becoming wiser buyer able to distinguish goods in need from products wasting money. Nevertheless, I still believe that blind and impulsive buyers are the majority.

In conclusion, because people are easily manipulated by adverts, the high sales of popular goods is more of a proof for its success in promotion strategy and advertisement design.