Is homework an effective instrument to gain knowledge?

It is widely acknowledged that homework assignment is an essential part of learning in most countries around the world. Nevertheless, there is a perennial dispute over whether homework has a significant educational value. This is a complex issue and this writing will ventilate some rationales that assignments at home are beneficial for students if teachers and parents know how to use it appropriately.

The negative effects that homework can exert on students are definite. To commence with, children are deprived of time for extracurricular activities and family. The key argument in support of this view is that students have to brace themselves for an accumulating mount of homework after school hours. Take candidates for the standardized tests such as Grade A or GCSE as a prime exemplar. According to the University of Phoenix, they have to spend an average of 3.5 hours daily to finish their homework assignments. The implication for this is that the time left for family affection and other leisure activities could be at a greater shortage. In addition to this, excessive piles of homework are deemed to harm children’s both physical and mental well-being. To exemplify, depression, sleep deprivation and stomach problems are common problems that students encounter due to school pressure, and which leads to other severe problems including autism or the commitment suicide.

On the other hand, although the aforementioned situations indeed look bleak, I am convinced that homework, if appropriately utilized, do play an important role in improving children’s academic performance. Tasks assigned during non-school hours can not only reinforce the concepts that they have learned but also develop a concrete understanding about the subject. Furthermore, time-management, using reference materials, critical thinking are the requisite skills that students could acquire from doing homework. For instance, during self-study period, if students encounter any difficulties, they will contrive to use dictionaries, technology assistants to facilitate their learning process.

Indeed, teachers have realized the extent to which their students were affected by excessive homework assignments. To rekindle students’ interest in homework, making tasks more pertinent is the key, which means that assignments at home should have a clear academic purpose such as practice, checking for understanding, or applying knowledge or skills. To this end, there are many novel kinds of homework including project’s preparation, picture drawing, the rehearsal for literature drama which have revolutionized the misconception of students about homework. To illustrate, in project-based learning, students do their own research, and then present it back while teachers just scaffold and moderate learning process and this approach allows creativity, teamwork skill to develop. Last but not least, the role of parental involvement is of great importance in fostering children’s learning outcomes. These are the testament to the fact that homework is a contributing factor to students’ academic performance.

In conclusion, although schoolwork is not without downsides namely pressure, sleep deprivation and other health problems. From personal perspective, learners can gain a profound understanding of their subjects by properly assigned and pertinent tasks.