It is generally acknowledged that families are now not as close as they used to be. Give possible reasons and your recommendation.

It is true that extended families used to be preferred. However, it is observed nowadays that families are not as supportive as they were in those days. In fact, couples have their own nuclear families or even choose to build a sound financial status rather than have children. This essay will discuss some intrinsic reasons leading to the impairment of family bonds and the solutions to address this problem.

The first major reason is the leisure hours that people especially workaholics spend for their families have exponentially decreased. In the rat race to achieve material prosperity, hardly do people have time with each other since every family member started working in different places. For instance, if both parents are the primary breadwinners, the space left for affection to develop in such a nuclear family could be in greater shortage. Another reason is the addiction to electronic devices that make people become technophile. Despite having leisure time, it is not well spent on the loved ones because of laptops and smartphones. This is because these electronic gadgets have access to the internet which in turn opens ways for social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram. Therefore, citizens might get hooked and engrossed, and they tend to lose track of time to surf the web, and this could lead to a shortage of time spent with family.

Some viable suggestions are taken to bind the family members together, if everyone decides to be with their family every weekend, it would compensate the time they worked round the clock throughout /θruːˈaʊt/ the week. Therefore, in my opinion, this weekend bonds might even make individuals more emotionally attached to other members of the family and could strengthen their relationship. Another feasible /ˈfiː.zə.bəl/ solution would be organizing family trips at times by which the family bonds could be increased.

To recapitulate, most of the populaces are deprived of time for spending with their families either because of aspiration for materialism or addiction to gadgets. This has made a dramatic change that family members are not as closer to each other as years ago, so it is suggested to spend weekends and go for a trip with the family to strengthen their relationships.