Some people say that it is the responsibility of individuals to save money for their own care after they retire.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Finance is always one of the primary concerns of most people, especially after they retire. While some people believe that individuals need to save money for their own post-retirement life, others may hold a different viewpoint. In my opinion, each person should actually be responsible for saving up in addition to other sources of financial support.

On the one hand, saving money is what many people ought to consider doing in order to have a fulfilling life when they get older. To begin with, savings enable the elderly to be financially independent even when they are no longer in their job. They are thus not considered as a burden on other people. For example, if they are in trouble with their health, they can use their own money for treatment rather than having to rely on anyone else. In addition, compared to old people with no money, those who have some savings in hand are likely to live more positively. They are able to do whatever they like without any worries about life. For instance, they can comfortably indulge themselves in a range of recreational activities, such as shopping or travelling around.

On the other hand, some other financial aids may also be deemed necessary for the retired. Firstly, it is the young generation who should be in charge of supporting older members in their family. By doing so, young people can show their gratitude towards their parents in return for what they have sacrificed for them in the past. Secondly, the government should also play a certain role in providing retired people with special welfare. This is truly reasonable because they have made many contributions to society throughout their whole working life.

In sum, it is each individuals’ responsibility to decide how their post-retirement life could be. Even though various financial aids are granted for the elderly, being well-prepared for rainy days can bring a more fulfilling life