Some people think that parents have the greatest influence on their child’s academic development rather than the teacher.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The general consensus is that adolescents should be comprehensively educated in terms of academic knowledge to prepare for their future careers. Nonetheless, there is some dispute whether children’s academic performances were most influenced by their parents or their teachers. This is an arcane issue and I adopt a view that parents and teachers should cooperate to foster the child’s academic development.

To commence with, those who opine that children’s intellectual development is greatly affected by their parents can rely on the amount of time spent for children as a foundation of their argument. Parents are the ones who spend most time with their young ones, whereas schools do not have that luxury of time to supervise children’s academic progress. This is particularly true of academic subjects namely foreign languages and mathematics which require continuous revision. To exemplify, without their parents, children tend to procrastinate their homework in virtue of some distractions such as smartphones, televisions and games. Likewise, teachers cannot go to their students’ houses to teach them directly so their parents should be responsible for taking care of their children with respect to academic development.

On the other hand, school fundamental’s role is to educate students. Teachers with proficient expertise and pedagogical approaches can easily instill knowledge into a child’s mind. Another key argument in support of this view is that to climb the career ladder, some parents who are often occupied with hectic schedule are not willing to spend sufficient time to teach their children. This is particular true of Japanese society where employees are often pressurized by their seniors at their workplace, so spending time on such trivia such as educating their children is, according to their point of view, negligible. This is a testament to the notion that the pivotal role of teachers is unforgettable.

To recapitulate, while a child’s lives primarily revolve around family, schools are better as a formal setting where knowledge is taught. The optimum method is probably to make use of both forms of educating children in order to foster future generation’s academic ability.