How can the government make sure that people save enough money to live on when they are old?

It seems that for most people getting older also means getting harder to earn living. In order words, many senior citizens globally, from China to the USA, are now struggling just to make enough for themselves. In order to combat this financial problem and ensure that those people could live on, various measures from governments need to be implemented. In this essay, certain solutions, which might alleviate the situation, are suggested.

First and foremost, education is of great importance. If old people are taught how to balance between their spending and their saving, a deeper understanding would be obtained. Thus, governments should open more financial management sessions for this demographic. It is likely that people will have much more control over their assessment. However, a great sum of money is needed so that those classes could be held widely.

Furthermore, an increase in job opportunities for the elderly would also be effective, since after retiring people are occasionally able to find another job, leading to income shortage. Therefore, if firms are incentivized by governments to create more employment for old workers, the issue should be partly curbed. For example, handmade craft businesses, where the tasks are not too demanding, would provide a great number of jobs for these people, if supported by the authorities. A drawback of it is that with the advancement of technology, such fields would hardly have sustainable growth.

Finally, it appears that ill-health condition, which is inevitable for old citizens, such as Alzheimer or Parkinson might be a hindrance to living without financial burdens. Therefore, better health insurance, as well as an increase in pension, maybe what people need. If a citizen is bedridden due to old age, for instance, then all of the treatments should be covered by the insurances since working for the payment is almost impossible. But this measure would increase the taxes, which they have to struggle with at young ages. That is to say, greater pressure is put on young people.

In conclusion, the solutions for this issue vary from supporting to increasing jobs, yet the most important is education. Teaching people to manage money at young ages would help them prepare better for their future.