How should pay for road system-essay 2

Some people believe that national authorities should subsidise the transportation systems, including the road network while others think the responsibility to pay for it should belong to users. I strongly believe that the government, as a “tax receipient”, should finance all construction, upkeep and operation fees and users only contribute to the cost of the road system when they prefer to commute on a toll road.

On the one hand, all the fees related to the road systems should be covered by the government. Owing to receiving taxes from its citizens, the government’s responsibility is to allocate its revenue to invest in things that benefit the whole country. Obviously, what road system is to the economy is what the circulatory system is to the body. Without smooth moving, it makes the economy difficult to grow. Therefore, the government should invest money in building and maintain the road network to ensure the smooth flow of traffic, thereby guaranteeing the development of the country. Moreover, it will take a substantial amount of money and a very long time to construct a new road system, normally a few decades. It seems beyond the capacity of the majority of private companies.

On the other hand, that is not to say road users will not pay any fees. There has to be an incentive such as the bypass or the highway which could speed up journey times. In that case, users could choose to pay for the road toll to reduce traffic time. However, the old roads must be in good condition to give people more choices because someone might not be able to pay or not want to pay for the alternative roads. For instance, in Vietnam, people can pay fees to use the Haivan Tunnel and save time or take a longer time to travel on a mountain pass. Also, the government could charge congestion fees to eliminate the number of cars in urban areas, but it does not change the point that users do not need to pay for public goods like the road.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the government should be held accountable for funding to build the road system while users could choose to pay only when they want to spend less time traveling through the toll roads.