Who should pay for road systems?

As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

Some people believe that national authorities should subsidise the transportation systems, including the road network while others think the responsibility to pay for it should belong to users. I strongly believe that the government should finance building fees and users have to contribute to the cost of upkeep and operation the road system.

On the one hand, construction costs should be covered by the government. What road system for the economy is what the circulatory system for the body. Without smooth moving, it makes the economy difficult to grow. Therefore, the government should invest money in building a road network to ensure the smooth flow of traffic, thereby guaranteeing the development of the country. Moreover, it will take a substantial amount of money and a very long time to construct a new road system, normally a few decades. For example, the 2109 kilometres-North-South expressway in Vietnam that costs approximately 24 billion AUD is estimated to be finished in about 10 to 20 years. It is justified when the government spends a budget on this project now and future users will pay for their trip.

On the other hand, in terms of maintenance and operation costs, road users should shoulder charge when they commute in the street. Similar to other essential goods such as water or electricity which users must cover the usage and running fees, there is no reason why transformation should be an exception. Obviously, when being held accountable for the cost of the road system like the congestion charge or road toll, people have to think twice before getting behind the wheel. As a result, the number of people using public transport would be increased, which would be beneficial for people, the environment and the economy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the government should allocate the funding to build the road system while users should pay for the cost of upkeep and operation. This is the best solution for sustainable development in both the economy and the environment.