If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that young family members should be held legal responsibility for taking care of their older generations when they are not in a state of wellness or financial autonomy. I totally agree with this notion and the essay below aims to clarify my view.

On the one hand, descendants are certainly in the best position to take care of their elder family members if they are not able to look after themselves. This is because parents have sacrificed lots of their time and effort to nurture their offspring and ensure to bring them all the best. Therefore, when they are inevitably getting older, the duty of care naturally falls to younger individuals who possess the abilities and financial resources to provide the needed support. This is also an opportunity for descendants to return the favor to their original caregivers. As a result, it is completely reasonable for young people to be liable for taking care of their older blood relatives.

On the other hand, some might argue that younger family members supporting their older generations should be voluntary so they can feel more comfortable when they engage in this activity. However, this argument overlooks the fact that there is nothing to assure that descendants are willing to look after their relatives when they are no longer physically, mentally, or financially. Thus, it is vital to have legal commitments to guard both parties' interests. For instance, younger individuals have an obligation to their original caregivers. In contrast, some parents who never took after their kids should not be entitled to receive this care.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, it is apparent that old people are worthy of having a right to receive the support of their descendants when they become frail old or need financial assistance.