• Task 2: If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that old people do not have the physical, mental or financial ability of looking after themselves, younger family members should be under obligation to support them. In my opinion, I totally concur with this attitude for some reason I would discuss below.

It is suitable for moral principles when people help their older family members. To begin with, the main reason is that it is said to be a way of revealing gratitude of descendants to older members as before that, parents or grandparents devoted themselves in order to nurture children such as working overtime. Hence, their health has more and more deteriorated so when they are not able to look after themselves, it is necessary for younger members to care for them. In addition, helping old family members is a good way of showing loves to them and contributing to one of the traditional precious personalities of humans. In the long run, this phenomenon will enhance humanity and civilization as well.

Moreover, looking after old people brings a brighter future for them. First, the living standard of them can improve significantly thanks to the support of the younger members. Because of not having the ability to care for themselves, they struggle with a host of daily life difficulties, for example expensive living costs, doing housework and so on and it is really a blessing for them to be given the hand of descendants. Consequently, the number of homeless old people show a sharp decrease. Second, thanks to descendants always standing by old people, they can get rid of feelings of loneliness, boredom. That will enhance the mental health of them and reduce the rate of suicide in old people.

In conclusion, it is advisable for people to look after their older family members when they can not live independently.