Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Working freelance instead of being employed by a corporation is being a trend in recent years. Although several reasons can be attributed to this matter, I doubt that there are some drawbacks of self-employment.

The greatest advantage of working as a freelancer is that people will be in total control of how they work. Instead of the boring from-nine-to-five working style and be packed like sardines in the stream of commuters every morning, they can start their working day at any time without worrying about traffic jams, penalties for late attendance, as well as the transportation method to go to work. Besides, while companies have limited number of days off and obtaining approval from superiors may take time, those who work for themselves can easily put their tasks aside for a few days to spend time with their family or to go on a vacation to decompress after strenuous labor.

Nevertheless, a freer style of employment means that it would be less stable. Enterprise pays the same base salary monthly for its employees, regardless of workers’ performance, but self-employment cannot guarantee regular income if people cannot find a task to do or just chose not to work for a certain period. As a result, freelancers have to take the initiative in job-seeking in order to earn a living. Moreover, self-employed workers have to deal with their own administration formalities regarding personal income tax and insurance, which are often complicated and time-consuming.

In conclusion, though self-employment has undeniable merits of giving people freedom, I opine that the demerits requiring high level of responsibility are also not ignorable.