Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

That many health issues are believed to be a consequence of consuming a considerable amount of sweetened foods leads to the question of whether to raise their cost. Although some would say the responsibility for health problems is the choice of consumers, I believe raising the cost of this type of food would discourage people from consuming more sugar.

Opponents of lifting the price of sugary foods would say that it is not the groceries themselves but because of the consumer’s preference of diet that detrimentally affects their health. As reportedly, there is a large majority of people that neglect their health and may not pay attention to the foods they have, which gradually exacerbates their health condition. Diets with high levels of glucose, however, can indeed lead to obesity and cardiovascular diseases. Researchers also conclude that over 50% of obesity’s causes is the high consumption of sugar and they state that if people have lower amounts of sweeteners, their health will progressively enhance.

Therefore, advocates of this approach would espouse that raising the cost of sweetened foods and beverages efficiently discourages people from purchasing these groceries. As the prices elevate, people may opt for other alternative products and thereby consume lower glucose goods. If governments levy high taxes on beverages, for example, people will thoroughly consider whether to spend more money on them. As a result, they would instead prefer to buy other drinks at a more reasonable price, helping them lower their consumption of high-sugar products.

In conclusion, the portion of sugar consumption is paramount to the possibility of health problems. I strongly agree that people may purchase healthier products when raising the cost of sugary ones is implemented.