An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is very common now for schools to replace books and other paper materials by providing students with tablets and notebooks to be used in class. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

One of the important advantages is by using electronic devices schools are reducing the quantity of paper used which is essential for the environment. It is a well-known fact that paper is made of trees and the production of paper causes deforestation. Therefore, by replacing paper materials with electronic devices schools contribute their part in improving the environmental situation. Additionally, by switching to computers, students will not have to carry extremely heavy backpacks with books to school every day. For example, in China, a students' school bag on an average weight of 8-10 kilograms. This king of weight has substantial pressure on a child's spine, but this problem will be eliminated if children will use computers.

However, spending extensive hours in front of the screen can cause health issues, such as sight impairment. A large body of research has proved that the light from computer screens can damage children's vision. Furthermore, using computers in classes can easily distract children. Youngsters can lose focus and start researching on computer materials that are not relevant, which in the future can have a negative impact on their grades.

In conclusion, by using computers and tablets instead of books schools can play a significant part in solving deforestation problems and reduce the weight of students' school bags. However, it can simultaneously be the cause of visual impairment problems in children and the loss of focus in classes.