Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that cars emit Carbon Dioxide into the atmosphere causing air pollution and a greenhouse effect, contributing to a global rise in temperature. There are a number of steps that can be taken to reduce the CO2 emission; however, an increase in fuel cost is just one of the ways and it is not very effective.

To begin with, vehicles are contributing approximately 25% of all Carbon Dioxide that is being released into the atmosphere every year. Increasing the price of petrol can help to reduce the environmental pollution to some degree. People with lower-income will not be able to afford expensive gasoline, and hence the number of cars on the roads will be reduced and consequently, the rate of air pollution will decrease; however, the majority of people will continue using cars. Therefore, expensive petrol will not solve environmental problems and actually will cause economic problems.

On the other hand, the government can consider different, more effective ways to address the environmental problem. Firstly, political leaders across the globe need to cooperate so that research into renewable forms of energy such as wind and solar power is adequately funded and the use of coal and gas in power stations is phased out. Secondly, by improving public transportation and reducing the cost of traveling, the government can encourage more people to use public transport; this practice can help to clean the environment and reduce traffic.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of fuel is not the best way to address the environmental problems; however, investments into the renewable energy and improvements in the efficiency y of public transportation are better alternatives that ought to be considered.