Nowadays the crime rate is increasing, especially among teenagers. What are the reasons behind it? How can we reverse this trend? What punishment methods should be used, in your opinion?

In recent decades the number of committed crimes is constantly increasing and especially juvenile crimes. This essay will discuss the main causes, solutions and methods that can be taken to address this problem.

One reason for the growing crime rate is ignorance. The cost of education is increasing every year and becoming unaffordable to many people. Therefore, after finishing high school many youngsters end up on the streets and without proper education, they cannot find jobs. And the only option they see is to earn "easy money" by committing a crime, such as stealing, fraud and even murder. Furthermore, a lack of parental supervision can lead youngsters to be engaged in delinquent activities. For instance, if parents have a busy schedule at work they can fail to see that the child got under the bad influence of peers.

A good solution to address the problem would be making education more affordable. The government should subsidize Universities and make sure that children from poorer families have the ability to get a higher education. For example, low-income students can receive a grant from the government to attend the University. Another way to tackle this problem is for parents to participate more in the lives of their children by organizing weekly family dinners or outdoor activities.

After juvenile has been found delinquent there are a few methods could be used as a punishment, such as home confinement or counselling. In my opinion, these measures should be taken before placing a teenager in jail.

In conclusion, the lack of proper education or parental guidance can cause a height rate of juvenile crime. However, by making education affordable and simply paying attention to children can help to address this problem. Furthermore, before the sentencing to jail, the government should arrange to counsel or home arrest for teenagers.