The increasingly wide use of computers in education has decreased the importance of teachers' roles in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the aid of advanced technology, using computers in education has become the norm for schools. This begs the question whether the emergence of computers dilutes the teachers' roles or not. From my perspective, I hold a firm believe that the roles of teachers cannot be substituted by computers.

First, computers cannot replace teachers because of the human relationships. Undoubtedly, there is something about the human connection between students and teachers that matters a lot. The presence of teachers helps students to realize that they are not dealing with a machine but a human being who deserves attention and respect. Furthermore, education is much more complex than spending prolonged periods in front of a faceless machine. It is about the trust and bind between teachers and students that creates a friendly and close-knit environment. In the world now where youngsters are increasingly retracting into virtual unreality, the interactions and relationships among humans should take priority so as to prevent an emotionless society.

Second, the efficiency of computers in teaching pale in comparison with teachers'. While teachers can discern the negative and positive feelings of students in order to adjust teaching methods appropriately, a computer fails to do this job. Moreover, teachers do not simply impart knowledge. They are also the inspirers, facilitators, mentors and leaders who encourage students to strive for their goals.

On the other hand, opponents of my idea may argue that computers' productivity surpass that of teachers as computers do not need breaks on account of bad health or any other personal commitments. However, it is worth pointing out that higher productivity does not always involve spending hours on ends on learning, rather, it should really depend on students'motivation to learn. Hence, I maintain that teachers can never be faded by computers.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly advocate that computers cannot decrease the importance of teachers. Rather than herald computers as an educational panacea, we should place special emphasis on the roles of teachers.