Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In times of globalization, English has become the lingua franca and held sway over any other languages, which makes dialects wane in importance. From my standpoint, everyone should strive to excel in English, as well as spearheading efforts to preserve local languages.

On the one hand, the need for everyone to learn English is well-grounded. First of all, being skilled in English opens up employment opportunities in multinational corporations. Conventionally, when applying to these international companies, candidates have to undergo some tests and interviews, which are all in English. Therefore, if one is hopeless in this language, he or she stands low chances of being employed. Meanwhile, it goes without saying that people having good command of English are extolled as first-rate candidates, augmenting their chances of being admitted. As a result, all benefits from these enterprises such as high salaries, increments, incentive schemes or working environment accrue to people good at English. Secondly, learning English contributes greatly to international connections. English allows countries to gain mutual understanding, building solid rapports among nations when it comes to negotiations, trade discussions or messages transmission, to name but a few.

On the other hand, it stands to reason that local languages should be conserved because of their pivotal roles in life. Obviously, local languages are integral to traditional and cultural values of each region. Hence, if local languages were not to be protected, some traditions and cultures might fall into oblivion, not to mention that they may become extinct. As a consequence, each country’s originality may be in deep trouble, as they can assimilate into European culture.

Therefore, on the premise that local languages need to be prevented from falling into disuse, people should take actions immediately. First and foremost, schools should promote local languages by including them in syllabus so as to raise students’ awareness. Besides, an ultimate answer to conserving local languages is to take full advantage of social media to disseminate the unexceptional importance of local languages in our lives.

In conclusion, either English or local languages should not be belittled, as both of them are advantageous in certain aspects. Thus, we should put effort into learning English and simultaneously, ensuring the survival of local languages by requiring them in studying curriculum and passing on their roles in cyberspace.