Individuals can do nothing the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of who must take the responsibility for protecting the environment has aroused crowd discussion. While a multitude of people suggest that solely the governments and big firms can make huge contribution, others firmly opine that the role of individuals should be, by no means, overlooked. Personally, I believe that such a duty should be equally devided between two parties for the sake of humankind.

On the one hand, there are sufficient grounds to argue that the authorities and big corporations should be in charge of environment control. First of all, it is clear that the state have huge power and resources allocated for preserving the environment, thereby becoming the outstanding contributing factor in the enhancement of our habitat in large scale. For example, the governments have the legal right to enact polices to raise awareness of public to hold hands to tackle this pressing issue. Furthermore, large enterprises also play a vital role in the process of managing the environment. Indeed, they have invented various environmentally-friendly products, like rice straws, degradable shopping bags or cars that run on alternative energy, which are incentives for many people to follow green lifestyle. By doing this, people's consuming habits can be positively improved, resulting in a greener living habitat.

On the other hand, that is not to say that each individual can not be the contributor. In fact, ordinary people, by doing tiny things in their daily life, such as putting trash in the right place, recycling clothes or using energy-efficient household items, can help reduce their carbon-footprint. This, in turn, creates significant changes. Besides, a larger proportion of citizen in numerous countries, including Vietnam, has shifted toward using public transports and bicycles, which minimizes a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide and enhances the air quality.

All in all, I would reaffirm that the governments, large companies, and everyone regardless of sex, age, religion should shoulder the responsibility of protecting our surroundings.