Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

The environment has been deteriorating for so long now and there is an increasing need to improve the conditions we live in. In this context, each and every individual's contribution is necessary. Hence, I strongly disagree with the idea that only governments and large companies should be concerned about it.

To commence with the view, A single person can make a huge impact on the betterment of the environment. For instance, a woman in Karnataka has so far planted 800 trees and treated them as her children for which her name made it to the "Limca book of records". We need not plant as many trees as her, but simply planting a tree on our every birthday would significantly heal the damage that has been done to nature so far.

In addition, a group of people passionate about environmental protection such as various NGOs can help a lot in this process. For example, they can help in bringing awareness to the people about the detrimental effects of various aspects such as using excessive plastics, unfiltered industry effluents and so on. Furthermore, since celebrities such as movie stars, famous sportspersons have a huge influence on people, them taking the responsibility to conserve the environment would lead to a considerable change. One such example is Leonardo DiCaprio, who always tries to motivate and encourage people to bring a change in the current lifestyle which is hazardous to the environment.

In conclusion, although the people in power and large corporations can make a huge difference in conserving the environment, it is everyone's responsibility to make the world a better place for future generations and together we can achieve this.