In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been changes in the family structure and the roles played by different family members in recent times. These changes include the reduction of family size and women taking up the role of breadwinner in the family. In my opinion, the changes have both positive and negative aspects and this essay will discuss the same.

To begin with, previously there used to be joint families with more than 10 members living together and sharing the joyous and doleful moments together. However, people nowadays tend to live separately and the family size is reduced to 3-4 people per family. Although this benefits the people to have their personal space and more financial stability, the affection and care that people get are definitely less when compared to joint families. For instance, in the past, if anyone in the family got into trouble, the whole family would support them emotionally, financially, physically. But now, everybody is busy with their own lives. Hence the changes in the family structure have as many benefits as the demerits.

In addition, women earning along with the men in the family is a great positive change that is to be observed in terms of family roles. Women have been discriminated against gender throughout history. Nevertheless, they have been fighting to dismantle the toxic patriarchal society and to win their equal rights. Fortunately, changes in the minds of people are visible nowadays and women are able to work alongside men. Therefore, I think changes in the family roles are positive.

In conclusion, recent times experienced great changes in terms of family structure and roles and I think the upsides outweigh the shortcomings.