Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technological advancements and cutting-edge gadget creation have brought huge benefits to mankind, allowing them to work from home. But while remote work enhances certain aspects of their lives, it may be detrimental to others.

One of the biggest benefits of mobile work is that it can help reduce commuting time and costs. Work offices are usually located in the heart of the cities and the cost of having accommodation in the urban area is sometimes too exorbitant for most city dwellers to afford. In addition, when individuals live far from their workplace, not only do they have to spend too much time commuting but they also suffer from traffic congestion as well as dust and smoke from vehicles. Therefore, telework is a great way to save time and money so that people can be more flexible in managing their work-life balance.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, remote work might prove to be less efficient without discipline and responsibility. Workers might start procrastinating as the employers and peers are not around. As a result, it can lead to missed deadlines, decreased productivity, and compromised quality of work. Moreover, those individuals may suffer from isolation and a lack of collaboration among colleagues. In the long run, the lack of face-to-face interaction may make people feel lonely, negatively impacting their mental health.

In conclusion, while there are several drawbacks of working from home, the benefits are more significant. To take all the advantages of this, people should have a good sense of responsibility and self-discipline.