International air travel has a negative impact upon the environment and should, therefore, be restricted.

Do you agree or not?

Given the volume of air journey in the last one or two decades, many people think that it has a very negative impact on our environment and should, therefore, be restricted. Air journey has some kinds of adverse impact on the environment but the impact is not too serious to be restricted.

Because of the reduced price of the air ticket and the increasing number of the tourist facilities around the world, the number of the tourist has been increasing rapidly all over the world. People now prefer plane journey over other means not only in the case of foreign journey but also for local journey. This increased number of air journey has definitely some adverse impact on the environment. It has been reported that carbon dioxide emitted from the aeroplanes hit directly the upper atmosphere layer which prevents the harmful sun rays from entering into our cities.

But it is still questionable whether restriction on air travel will really reduce the impact on the environment. To exemplify it, if there is a high limitation on air journeys, people will start relying on other means of transportation, like bus, train or ship, which will also emit high amount of carbon dioxide. Besides, people will suffer a lot as bus or train journey requires much more time than air journey. The most noticeable effect will be on the tourism industries, which contribute a lot to many countries’ economy, like Nepal or Thailand. These industries will collapse after placing a high restriction on air journey as most visitors will be discouraged to travel by bus or train which is very uncomfortable.

In conclusion, air journey has some negative impacts on our environment. But, placing a limitation on air travel will not be a sensible decision as the disadvantages will be much more than advantages.