Some countries encourage teenagers to have part-time jobs and see it as a good thing, while others disagree.

Give your opinion and discuss both views.

In some countries there are significant opportunities for the students to stay busy in doing part-time jobs while others do not have. Although there are some disadvantages in doing part-time jobs, I believe that students will get more benefits, and therefore, doing part-time jobs should be encouraged.

Doing part-time jobs causes some problems. It kills students’ study time. Students will want to stay busy whole day in part-time jobs as this can be a significant source of income. As a result, they will lose concentration from their study and fail school exam. Besides, part-time jobs have negative impact on a country’s people’s education level. Many students in western countries do not want to continue their study after passing high school exam as they become very busy in part-time jobs and consider these jobs as their life-time jobs.

However, benefits of doing part-time jobs are enormous compared to the disadvantages. Students can afford their day-to-day expenses by doing part-time jobs. Not only can they afford daily expenses, but they can also afford a large proportion of their university fees which are easing day by day. As a result, there will be less burden on their parents. There are also other benefits relating to the skills they gain from part-time jobs. From part-time jobs, students can get valuable skills, for example, presentation skills, managing skills and team-working skills, which will be significant assets when they will find corporate jobs. These skills will keep them ahead of many competitors in job interview.

To conclude, although part-time jobs have some negative impacts on students’ study, the benefits are huge, and therefore, I believe that doing part-time jobs should be encouraged.