International tourism has brought about enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

As the global economic growth fast in the recent years, travelling around the world have become something affordable for majority of people. However, no one can deny that there are positive and negative outcomes on host destinations which come along with this traveling habit changes. Personally, by deliberating both sides, there are more considerable amounts of advantages compared to disadvantages itself.

The most apparent merit as the impact of international tourism is the emergence of new income sources for local people. Usually, visitors will need accommodations, transportations, and foods during their trips. Hence, the local people can provide it all to earn sum of money. In addition, compared to the other places, the certain areas that can attract the tourists will get special concern from authorities to enhance the construction of good public facilities which eventually can be utilized by local people to support their daily activities. Not to mention, the openness to global tourism in positive way will make local inhabitants more tolerant towards diversity as the side effect of cultural exchanges.

On the contrary, there also some potential drawbacks that is brought by this tourism globalization. The over-exploited of local resources might endanger the environment and the local wisdom. For instance, the vast growth of new buildings to support the tourism that do not well planned and prepared will damage the ecosystem equilibrium. Furthermore, the cultures of tourists are not always suitable for the local people values and it might effects them in the bad way. However, all these drawbacks can be addressed as long as the authorities impose some mandatory policies to protect the local societies and environment as well.

In conclusion, by carefully measuring both effects, the advantages of international tourism to local ecosystem outweigh its disadvantages.