Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the adventages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In the recent few years, as the public awareness of the energy sustainability for the future is increasing, solar energy emerges as one of the most essential alternative energy sources. Along with this phenomenon, both positive and negative impacts must be acknowledged.

The positive side which also becomes its primary reason to blossom is that the solar energy is not a limited resource. As long as the sun still exists in our solar system, it can be used to supply energy for the whole world and not to mention it is labelled as eco-friendly as well. It is really different from the long-used unrenewable energy such as coal which is predicted to completely run out in the near future and it needs thousand years for such source to reform. Furthermore, affordable energy resources are also important to take into consideration when looking for a new alternative for energy supplies. Therefore, the advancement of the technology makes the production of solar energy less costly compared to that a few years ago and the other available alternatives today.

However, the drawbacks (that are) brought by the increasing demand of solar energy also need to be taken into deliberation. The sudden change to a new one may lead to the chaos and imbalance in the current energy industry. Public cannot ignore the fact that the coal companies have become one of the biggest industry that have been providing life-earnings for numerous employees and their families. Therefore, while making the conversion from the coal industry to solar energy industry, the authorities must ensure that the mentioned parties are taken into consideration.

To conclude, the high demand of solar energy leads to the more affordable energy supplies and eco-friendliness. Meanwhile, government and policy makers need to anticipate the possible chaos among the current industries as the effect of conversion to the new energy resources.