International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

These days, it is true that the growth of the international travel industry has brought several benefits to both visitors and the host nations which receive them. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this development, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, the downsides of welcoming foreign visitors are varied. First and foremost, travelers are inclined to be confronted with such unexpected issues as being overcharged and scammed due to their ignorance about market price. Secondly, in terms of the host country, issues of water disposal, pollution, and excessive construction of hotels tend to exert negative impacts on the environment. Many beach resorts in Viet Nam, for instance, have become apartments to accommodate mass tourism from other countries that leads to landscapes’ destruction. And the most likely drawback to consider is that international travel might pose a threat to social health. Especially, amid the pandemic of Covid-19, both visitors and local residents might run a higher risk of contracting contagious melodies.

On the other hand, I suppose the merits of travelling to other countries would eclipse those aforementioned demrits. For visitors, travelling abroad is a way for them to broaden their horizons, meet people from different backgrounds and gain numerous fascinating experiences of exotic cultures as well. Another reason for this view is that the influx of foreign tourists coming to host country would evidently enhance tourism industries, doing wonders for that country’s economy. They are likely to expend more on foodstuff, accommodation, transportation, shopping, and so forth. As a result, employees in these sectors generally benefit from higher wages and improved living standards.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the positives of international tourism are more notable than its negatives.