Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that zoos play an important role in protecting wild animals, others feel that keeping animals locked up in such places is cruel and unnecessary. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the idea that animals should not be kept in zoos and that zoos should be shut down.

On the one hand, zoos are no doubt a haven for the wildlife, especially for animals on the Red List. First and foremost, zoos can help to preserve endangered animals by keeping them safe from poachers and such other threats as habitat destruction and overexploitation. Some zoos also run breeding programs in order to facilitate animals’ mating and reproduction as well. Secondly, by keeping animals in zoos, they tend to provide urban dwellers with opportunities to be educated about rare species. As a result, this can help to raise awareness amongst the public in order to protect animals in particular and the environment in general.

On the other hand, while the aforementioned ideas may be true to a certain extent, I believe that zoos are unnecessary for the following host of reasons. To begin with, wild animals are caged in a limited space and fed by humans while they long for a natural way of life. Therefore, many of them might suffer from boredom, confinement, and gradually losing instincts as well. In the long run, such individuals in zoos might be negatively affected physically and mentally. Lions fed with dead or frozen meat, for example, are prone to lose their foraging and hunting instincts. Furthermore, in many zoos, animals are being mistreated as they are often provided with insufficient food and medical care, which has so far caused many animals in zoos to die due to starvation and diseases. And the most likely drawback to consider is that many governments might see zoos as an opportunity to make money. To be more specific, a multitude of wild animals are exhibited and perform to entertain and attract visitors to the zoos. Many people claim that humans have no moral rights to monetize rare animals’ appearance and performance.

In conclusion, though some zoos may have some positive impacts on the conservation of some certain animal species, overall, I think they are cruel places and do more harm than good.