Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, it is commonly believed that living in a horizontal city is the best, while the opponents of this idea prefer to settle in a vertical city. While there are benefits to residents dwelling in low-rise construction, I would argue that cities with skyscrapers and high-rise buildings offer more advantages.

On the one hand, a horizontal city has its own notable merits based on a few financial and privacy reasons. First and foremost, if residents live in a private house, they could not only save a great deal of money for building services but also have a sense of ownership. Therefore, they are likely to get opportunities to decorate or renovate homes according to their preference. Secondly, it is widely acknowledged that dwellers in houses may evacuate quickly from emergency cases such as fire, construction collapse, and avoiding elevator accidents. Especially, people settling there would be able to flee without much help from rescue teams.

On the other hand, it seems to me that living in a vertical city is much more advantageous. The first benefit is that vertical areas tend to resolve the issue of accommodation shortage due to the population explosion in metropolitan centers. By maximizing land usage, such areas could preserve more space for parks, shopping malls, and playgrounds as well. Furthermore, it is much safer for residents to live in an apartment in a tall building that offers full security services and video surveillance. Thanks to being available 24/7, these technological devices are inclined to protect people from external factors such as robbers, kidnappers, stalkers, and so forth.

In conclusion, from my perspective, while living in an attached or semi-detached house does have some benefits, the aforementioned advantages of living in a city with skyscrapers make living in a vertical city a better choice.