Internet is becoming a dominant element in modern life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet?

Internet is undoubtedly a crucial part of the modern society due to its benefits to people of different ages and occupations. Apart from its advantages, there are related problems that could be harmful to users. This essay will examine the pros and cons of the Internet to today’s life.

On the one hand, the Internet could provide the fastest access to various sources of information without scrolling through heavy books. There are numerous websites with reliable sources of information related to international news, mathematical exercises and history. By using educational websites, high-schoolers could progress without wasting time on extra classes after school. Moreover, the Internet is a versatile form of entertainment as it entertains people with programs of movies, games and television shows. For example, using the Internet during spare time for films or relaxing games can effectively mitigate many officers’ stress from a competitive workplace.

On the other hand, the Internet also causes people trouble besides its useful advantages. The first problem is that surfing the Internet without any time limitation could wreak havoc to eyesight. For instance, staring at the phone or computer screen too long when using the Internet could precipitate the process of shortsightedness. Furthermore, the Internet also has a weak filtration of information; thus, misleading news could deceive the society. There are malicious posts about social or economic problems on Facebook that intend to mislead the community. Therefore, being exposed to many of these news on the Internet might create a distortion in the public's awareness about a particular problem, which is deteriorating to the unity of a society.

In conclusion, although the Internet revolutionizes the way people approach information and entertainment, it is undeniable that using it without scrupulousness could damage eyesight and social awareness.