Internet is becoming a dominant element in modern life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet?

Internet has, undoubtedly, become a crucial part of the modern society due to its benefits to individuals of various ages and occupations. Apart from its advantages, it must be acknowledged that there are related problems that could be detrimental to users. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of the Internet to today’s life.

On the one hand, the Internet could provide the fastest access to a plethora of information without tedious searches through heavy books. There are numerous websites with reliable sources of different topics related to international news, mathematical exercises and history. By using educational websites, high-schoolers could progress without solely relying on extra classes after school. Moreover, the Internet is a versatile form of entertainment as it entertains people with programs of movies, games and television shows. For example, using the Internet during leisure time for films or relaxing games can effectively alleviate officers’ stress from a competitive workplace.

On the other hand, the Internet also causes trouble alongside its advantages. The first problem is that a prolonged exposure to phone screens while browsing the Internet could wreak havoc to eyesight. For instance, excessive screen time on the Internet could precipitate the process of shortsightedness. Furthermore, the Internet lacks efficient filtration mechanisms for information; thus, misleading news could easily deceive society. There are malicious posts about social or economic matters on Facebook that intend to misinform the community. Therefore, being exposed to such inaccurate news on the Internet might create a distortion in the public's awareness about specific issues, contributing to societal underdevelopment.

In conclusion, although the advent of the Internet has revolutionized the way people approach information and entertainment, it is undeniable that using it without limitations could damage users' eyesight and social awareness.