The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is commonly thought that it is easier to access information for people through the internet. While the thinking that information online can be misleading, it is my belief that it has a positive impact on people's lives.

It is understandable why the internet has become an effective tool in searching for more information. It must be recognized that there are many search engines created such as Google, Bing, Yahoo, and other numerous tools with billions of data to serve the demand for people's access to information. As a result, it is more convenient for individuals to look for anything anywhere with their phones or laptops. For example, in the past, people usually went to the library to find books they needed for study and research. However, nowadays, with the advancement of the internet, it is easier to search for those books online in different formats. Therefore, many people switch to using e-books instead of traditional books.

Despite the above arguments, there are still several drawbacks to finding information on the internet, typically there is more and more misinformation. In the current technological period, people can find multiple sources of information, but they do not know whether the information provided is completely accurate. As a result, it can lead to many misunderstandings of people about what they are searching for. Moreover, many people use the internet to spread misinformation related to sensitive issues about politics, violence, and more. For example, when people searched for historical information about the Vietnam - Cambodia border war, there was plenty of information saying that Vietnam invaded Cambodia, but they were wrong and in fact, Vietnam helped Cambodia escape the genocidal regime.

In conclusion, the internet is an excellent support tool for people to access information. However, people should be cautious about misleading information.