Investment in local amenities such as leisure centres is the best way for the government to foster a good community spirit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Investing in local amenities is one of the implementations to build up a good community spirit. By growing up population, people have figured out many different ways for us to get together. Other than local amenities, I believe there are more effective ways to achieve the goal.

Although local amenities such as public swimming pool or leisure complexes can be quite expensive for a government, some people still prefer going to these place to hang out with others. They may make new friends in a wide range of ages or with same hobbies within the community. Another way to foster a good spirit in a community can be public facilities. Governments should consider to build some facilities like libraries and parks where people can spend their leisure time or relax.

If building amenities and facilities spends too much money, holding a activity may be a cheaper way. For instance, having a tennis class on weekends, or some other special activities that related to local culture. These activities won’t result in a huge expenditure, and the cohesion can possibly be built up within community. On the other hand, although it could take more effort on planning, there is no need for governments to spend on an extra money afterwards like spending money on maintaining amenities or facilities.

There are many implementations in terms of fostering a good spirt in community. In my opinion, they all have their own pros and cons, and those factors are needed to be concerned by the governments.