In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare.

A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future.

With the well-developed medical science, people nowadays indeed have a longer life expectancy. However, on the other side of this change, many nations have been suffering from the cost of healthcare services. In my opinion, I do agree that a proper increase in the pay for healthcare treatment is rational and necessary in the future.

We are living in a nice era with the greatest medical system, which people are obviously healthier than in the past. However, humans will still get older and need more medical treatments. Countries like Japan and Korea are meeting the problems of the rapid increase of the aging population. They spend more money on taking care of these elderly and suffer from healthcare provision. These problems not only bring to these certain countries but also actually to an entire world in the future. We must face them in order to improve a better healthcare system for all of us.

To alleviate this burden, one simple way is to increase the tax from the citizens. But this might cause a problem which those people who cannot pay a high tax, in this case, governments could set levels on the tax which correspond to the levels of healthcare. Or on the other hand, the elderly could have an option of paying for better healthcare services with a part of their pension. It is a truth that we should all bear the difficult situation on this matter, and I think governments should take the responsibility on taking care of them since these people were the great contributors who worked hard in their productive age for their respective countries.

To conclude, it is a fact that the aging population results in the higher cost of public healthcare. For the problem, I firmly believe that governments play an important role in provisioning medical resources.