It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a year off is becoming more and more popular after completing secondary school and before embarking tertiary education. This essay will highlight both the merits and demerits of this approach.

To begin with the positives, one significant advantage to have a year is that it provides an opportunity to individuals to familiarize themselves with the professional world. They can work in various fields and can make up their mind about what kind of profession suits them. For instance, a person who is passionate about pursuing journalism can work in a local newspaper first to gather knowledge about what specific skills one needs in order to be a proficient writer. In addition, the salary, which they obtain by working during this time period, can be used to cover their study expenses in future.

On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages associated with this approach. Firstly, it is obvious that one might refrain themselves to go back to college because of the money they are making by working full-time. Secondly, after a long break of 12 months it might be hard for a student to effectively concentrate on their studies once again. For example, the rate of enrollment in undergraduate courses has dropped to approximately 10% in the United States which is an evident proof of how profound affect this year break can have on the mentality of a student.

In conclusion, although a person can get experience of the professional world, disadvantages such as inability to focus on studies and going after money cannot be undermined.