It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no doubt that the trend of taking a year break after the completion of school and before starting the college courses has gain greater popularity. This trend may be beneficial for the student before entering tertiary education but there are also some identified drawbacks attached.

On the one hand, there is an undeniable upside to take a gap year. This is the time to recharge their battery or escape from the hustle and bustle of life. Completing a long academic journey with a reasonable score is not an easy task for many students. For those who have already passed it, they often feel tired and need a break. So this can help students get back with a fresh mind and continue their studies in tertiary education. Moreover, this is an opportunity for them to access many career sectors in society. during this time, they may be trying out various part-time jobs to enhance new skills and set up new relationships. In this way, students will have a better career orientation to choose their appropriate major and increase their employability in the future

One the other hand, The disadvantages seem to be more convincing than these benefits. This may stop the study of high school graduates. Most people making a lot of money from those part-time jobs during the break often intend to drop out. They are not aware of the significance and importance of going to college so they are missing the opportunity to apply for job having better income and a good work environment. This in part also affected the country's decline because of the lack of young talents. Furthermore, It also has many potential risks that can adversely affect the students themselves. Due to this break, they might fall victim of social evils that makes them criminal or meet with an accident while traveling and vacation somewhere. Their lives and personalities may be affected at any time without their knowledge

In conclusion, despite having a year gap can broaden the horizons of the students by providing them a better vision of the society and various cultures, It can also barter away their career and future even their lives.