It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, taking a year off after the graduation from the high school is becoming preferable between students. However, while some students, in order to take the right decision, prefer to take a year off after their graduation other students think that this year might have negative consequences on their academic career. This essay is an attempt to discuss these two points of views.

On the one hand, taking a year off after the graduation might be a good chance for the students to find their passion about what will they study. To illustrate, fresh graduated students are more likely to follow their hearts rather than their minds. Therefore, taking the right decision requires enough time for analyzing and evaluating the options according to both students’ desires and job environment’s expectations.

On the other hand, taking a year off may cause negative consequences on students’ academic performance in the university. For instance, according to a survey was done in the university of Sana’a, students who immediately started the university, without taking a year off, are more likely to have better scores in the first semester than the students who decided to wait for one year before the university. Consequently, most of those who take a year off after high school might have difficulties with remembering the required knowledge for the college.

To conclude, although having a year off might seem like a waste of time it has many positive sides, that may be realized later. Thus, the benefits of taking a year off before starting the university outweighs the downside of it.