It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university What are the advantage and disadvantages of this

It is irrefutable that delaying university education, for a year, has gained a lot of popularity nowadays before enrolling in college. Clearly, the main benefit is that students can acquire the requisite skills and a potential drawback is lack of interest in academics due to the long gap in education.

To commence with, the most striking merit of this phenomenon is that the time can be utilised to engage in a social activity. By helping other people, it will aid in interpersonal skills such as confidence, communication and positive attitude. Not only this but they will learn life lessons and values such as intelligence, loyalty, and humanity resulting in a better future at the college. Additionally, they get an opportunity to earn and collect money for the college fee. As a consequence, it reduces the financial burden from parents and prevents them from taking extraordinary steps beyond their capacity to arrange funds. For instance, the government of Malaysia has passed guidelines for students to take a year gap in order to become ready for graduation in terms of requisite knowledge and money. Therefore, taking a year off makes a student independent and full of values.

Despite having numerous advantages, there are significant pitfalls that can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of one year gap. First of all, losing academic momentum is the major issue because attendees might lack the habit of going to school and studying. In other words, they might find their break too interesting which will distract them from their path, and end up not wanting to go back to formal education. To substantiate, a 2015 study shows that 30% of students abandon their academic qualification if they delay their studies even for one year. Hence, the more we encourage the delay in education, the more difficult it becomes to go back to the momentum.

To conclude, although the decision to take time off before enrolling into college is good for those who are very serious about their career, proper planning and monitoring is essential to avoid wastage of time.